In Other Words: Celebrating Student Writing

The inaugural "In Other Words" exhibition opened April 6. Photo: Clarita Hinojosa.

In Other Words: Celebrating Student Writing

On April 6, writing by students took center stage at Cornish. After months of planning, design and curation, the Writing Across the Curriculum (WAC) Committee launched an inaugural two-week exhibition, In Other Words: Celebrating Student Writing.

In Other Words: Celebrating Student Writing

Photo: Clarita Hinojosa

Seventy-two students, representing every department across the college, submitted over 50,000 words in the form of scripts, one film, song lyrics, short stories, text-based artwork, storyboards, sketchbooks, comics, graphic texts, manifestos, research papers, reflection essays, poetry, artist statements, arts criticism, podcasts, and performances.

An estimated 200 students, faculty, and staff attended the opening celebration. Students commented, “phenomenal,” “stunning,” “I had no idea so many of my peers are poets,” and, “I can’t wait to submit next year!” Attendees circulated through the Writing Center, Library, and adjacent corridors, reading the texts on the wall and poems suspended from the ceiling. Performances of plays, songs, and poems were held in the Writing Center and nearby rooms, where students cheered their peers as their words came alive.

In her opening remarks, Acting President Star Hang Nga Rush congratulated the students and the WAC Committee for contributing to the culture of writing at Cornish, an “important component of what we do.” At the close of the exhibit, participating students received a zine of their work. A digital version, In Other Words Side A and Side B, can be found on Issuu.

The WAC Committee is thrilled by the enthusiastic response to this event. WAC’s mission is threefold: 1) promote a culture of writing and research at Cornish amongst students, faculty, and staff; 2) facilitate faculty development in the teaching of writing, reading, and research; 3) support the development of writing and research curriculum across the college.

The 2017-18 committee members include: Amanda Hill, Bridget Nowlin, Elizabeth Darrow, Gayle Clemans, Jack DeLap, Kevin Goodrich, Kate Myre, Lodi McClellan, Megan Smithling, Roberta Russell, and Ryan Hartigan.