Faculty and Staff Email Login:

If your email account has not been moved to Google by I.T., then login here using Outlook Web Access:

If your email account has moved to Google by the I.T. Department, then login here:

Wayne Rawley (TH ’93) Wins a Gregory

Wayne Rawley (TH ’93) Wins a Gregory

: Sample (Ryan Higgins) and the Doug Sample Dancers. Photo by Photo: Dave Hastings.

The “best new play” category was populated almost exclusively by Cornish folks, so it was no surpise that one of them took it away.

Wayne Rawley, Cornish graduate in Theater from 1992, won a Gregory for best new play for his script “Live! From the Last Night of My Life” (pictured, Theater Schmeater production). As it turns out, he had lots of Cornish company; three of the other nominees in that category were grads or faculty. Also nominated were Richard Andriessen (TH ’10) for “The Callers,” Jessica Hatlo (TH ’08) for “Stuck,” and faculty member Stephanie Timm for “Sweet Nothing.”

The annual Gregory Awards were announced at ACT theater on Monday, October 29. Among the nominees were a host of Cornish alums and faculty members. For outstanding scenic design, Matthew Smucker, Performance Production faculty, was nominated for “First Date”; Carol Thompson (TH ’10) was up for outstanding supporting actress for her work in “The Callers”; up for outstanding actress for “Dirty Story” was Carol Roscoe, member of the faculty of Theater; Connor Toms, (TH ’01), was nominated as outstanding actor for “Red” and Theater Department Chair Richard ET White for outstanding director for the same production; also up for outstanding director was Gabriel Baron (TH ’00) for his work on “Accidental Death of an Anarchist” and the Strawberry Theatre Workshop show, represented by Artistic Director Greg Carter (also of Cornish’s Performance Production faculty), was up for outstanding production.

The winner for outstanding director, Desdemona Chiang, was the director of several Cornish productions. Chiang won for “Jesus Hopped the A Train.”

The other winners of 2012 Gregory Awards were: for best show, “Jesus Hopped the ‘A’ Train” by Stephen Adly Guirgis, produced by Azeotrope; best set design went to Deanna Zibello; ACT won as best theater; Ryan Higgins won as best actor for “Live! From the Last Night of My Life”; and Kirsten Potter won as best actress for “Or,” at the Seattle Repertory Theatre.


View Archive